Skip to main content


          The Association for Women in Communications


AWC-BN Crystal Awards for Local Women Leaders

The Crystal Awards honor the work of McLean County women whose professional and personal efforts embody the ideal of communication—a way of bringing together people, goals, and communities.

Virtual Crystal Awards 2021: Celebrating Women of Excellence

Thursday, February 25, 2021

Register Now


Registration is free, but donoations are appreciated. $10 and $25 donations will benefit the AWC student scholarship fund and professional development opportunities for AWC members.

Crystal Awards Categories

Outstanding Woman in
Communications Award

The Outstanding Woman in Communications Award exemplifies excellence in the field of communications. The work of nominees is not only an example for other communicators to emulate, it has led to real change.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award honors a woman who has achieved excellence in communicating a project, mission, or event. Though not always professional communicators, innovators use communications to capture audiences and create connections. 
Crystal Award

The Crystal Award recognizes the AWC chapter member of the year whose dedication enriches the chapter. This woman has built relationships within the chapter and the community to the benefit of everyone involved. 


2020 Crystal Award Winners

Outstanding Woman in Communications Award


Rachel "Ray" Hatch
Illinois State University Media Relations
Innovation Award


Angell Howard
Illinois State University Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
Crystal Award


Stephanie Duquenne
Illinois State University 
Alumni Engagement


Past Winners
Outstanding Woman in Communications – Susan Sanders
Innovation Award – Linda Bollivar
Crystal Award – Kara Snyder


Outstanding Woman in Communications – Nikita Richards
Innovation Award – Sarah Franzen
Innovation Award – Betty Kinser
Crystal Award – Kris Harding


Outstanding Woman in Communications – Aimee Beam
Innovation Award – Barb Dallinger
Crystal Award – Christy Germanis

Outstanding Woman in Communications – Susan Blystone
Innovation Award – Deborah Halperin
Crystal Award – Heather Wagner
Outstanding Woman in Communications – Katy Killian
Crystal Award – Julie Navickas

Outstanding Woman in Communications – Gail Dobbins
Crystal Award – Jackie Langhoff

Outstanding Woman in Communications – Chris Anderson
Crystal Award – Rachel Hatch